Reporter's Notebook: J. Cole, Kanye West build buzz with innovation

As tourists flowed in and out of the TCL Chinese Theatre in Hollywood on Thursday afternoon, it was easy to spot J. Cole fans once the smartphones and headphones quickly started to outnumber digital cameras.  

While cheery vacationers gawked at celebrity footprints, eager fans were waiting for a message on their phones informing them they had unlocked an exclusive stream of Cole’s highly anticipated sophomore album, “Born Sinner.”

The rapper was in New York holding court at a listening session for press and industry hotshots, but he wanted to let his fans in on the experience by announcing on Wednesday that he would simultaneously stream the album in a handful of cities.

RELATED: Kanye West premieres new music on sides of buildings worldwide

But he didn’t just give away the music. Cole made fans work by turning the experience into a high-tech scavenger hunt.

So as the rapper played the record in New York, fans flocked to specific locations s in L.A., Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Toronto, Houston and Cole’s hometown Fayetteville, N.C. But first they had to download a smartphone app called LSNR, which would unlock at the prompted time only if the user were within specific geographical coordinates. In L.A., this placed users in front of Chinese Theatre.

This sort of high-concept unveiling is reminiscent of the way Kanye West recently previewed new music. West sent fans flocking to random addresses in various cities to see a video of his new track, “New Slaves,” which was projected on to the sides of buildings.

At a time when album leaks are expected and eagerly awaited, being able to drum up high anticipation for a project is a rarity -- especially in rap, where mixtape culture has left fans both insatiable and impatient when it comes to new tunes.

PHOTOS: Concerts by The Times

West has tightly managed the details behind his sixth album, “Yeezus,” and precious little information has gotten to fans in advance of its release on June 18. Reports of recording sessions in Paris and abstract performances on “Saturday Night Live” coupled with the rapper's well-documented unpredictability only add to the mystery.

And while a leak of Cole's “Born Sinner” popped up online shortly after the listening sessions, the rapper has already built a loyal following through his generosity that will most likely be returned on the album's release date.

Cole spent most of Friday trending on Twitter with rap fans, many of them promising to buy the album despite the leak and others vowing not to steal the album. Cole eventually put the album up for stream on his website, likely to discourage downloads.

Like the rollout of his 2011 debut, “Cole World: The Sideline Story,” the Jay-Z protégé has offered fans goodies as he worked on the album, dropping two EPs as he continued work on “Born Sinner.”

In a recent interview, Cole was asked why he purposely moved the album up a week to square up with West. “How many opportunities do you get to compete with one of the greatest?" he told Billboard. He even raps about the decision on the album track, “Forbidden Fruit.”

It's a bold statement, and the music on Thursday’s virtual listening party proved those ambitions were warranted.

While his stellar debut shot straight to No. 1, thanks to years of touring and issuing free mixtapes, “Born Sinner” shows the young MC has mastered what his chart competitor West learned long ago: Ignore radio trends and deliver a focused and ambitious disc that makes a statement.

Ultimately, whoever lands at No. 1 that week isn’t important. What matters is two talents at different stages of their careers have managed to find innovative approaches to releasing music at a time -- and within genre -- where playing it safe is all too common.

Follow @GerrickKennedy

PHOTOS AND MORE PHOTOS: Concerts by the Times PHOTOS: Unexpected musical collaborations PHOTOS: Musician feuds: The dirt & details

Copyright © 2015, RedEye
Related Content
  • Essential track: Hot As Sun, 'Desert Song'

    Essential track: Hot As Sun, 'Desert Song'

    Los Angeles trio Hot As Sun released its full-length debut, "Night Time Sound Desire," in the spring, and despite being ignored by a certain monolithic indie rock site that often makes or breaks young, innovative pop, rock and electronic acts, the record has been flowing into discerning eardrums...

  • Album review: Disclosure's endearingly exuberant 'Settle'

    Album review: Disclosure's endearingly exuberant 'Settle'

    There’s a moment near the end of the ’N Sync song “Up Against the Wall” -- it’s from the boy band’s 2001 swan song, “Celebrity,” if you don’t recall -- where one of the group’s members, suddenly overcome with his enthusiasm for the track’s sleekly propulsive groove, cries out, “Whoo! 2-step!”

  • Music and identity crisis on the Sunset Strip

    Music and identity crisis on the Sunset Strip

    The storied hot spot for L.A. music ponders its future amid club closures and growing competition. Should it compete for today's cool kids, cash in on its history or something else entirely?

  • Marrow's 'The Gold Standard' raises the Chicago rock bar

    Marrow's 'The Gold Standard' raises the Chicago rock bar

    The four musicians in Marrow know quite a bit about bringing diverse influences to the table. After all, three of them, singer-guitarist Liam Kazar, singer-keyboardist Macie Stewart and bassist Lane Beckstrom were in Kids These Days, a now-defunct septet that combined jazz, funk, rap and rock in...

  • The Kids These Days family tree

    The Kids These Days family tree

    From its 2009 beginnings to its 2013 demise, Chicago's Kids These Days seemed like one of the most promising acts the city had seen in years. While the band split up at the height of its hype, its members have since gone on to do bigger and better things—seriously impressive considering the hip-hop/rock/jazz...

  • Chicago sues red light camera firm for $300 million

    Chicago sues red light camera firm for $300 million

    Mayor Rahm Emanuel's administration has sued Chicago's former red light camera operator, Redflex Traffic Systems, for more than $300 million on grounds the entire program was built on a $2 million bribery scheme at City Hall that has already led to federal corruption convictions.

  • Solid 'Gold': How ex-Kids These Days members came back stronger as Marrow

    Solid 'Gold': How ex-Kids These Days members came back stronger as Marrow

    After the dissolution of Kids These Days, the much-buzzed about Chicago fusion-jazz-rock-rap septet that split in spring 2013 just a few months after releasing its only album, “Traphouse Rock,” some of its members spent what seems like all of 20 minutes bandless. "We were driving back from the...

  • Mr Twin Sister's 'In the House of Yes' is one of last year's hidden treasures

    Mr Twin Sister's 'In the House of Yes' is one of last year's hidden treasures

    Welcome to RedEye's "Song of the Day," an ongoing feature where music reporter Josh Terry or another RedEye staff member highlights something they're listening to. Some days the track will be new, and some days it will be old. No matter what, each offering is something you should check out. Check...