Concert review: Shuggie Otis at Lincoln Hall

The spacious funk albums that Shuggie Otis recorded in the ‘70s still feel right on time, their innovation transcending the considerable shadow cast by his father, the late, great R&B band leader Johnny Otis.

But Shuggie brought it all back home Wednesday at Lincoln Hall, channeling his father’s sound as much as his own. It was a set steeped in horn-spackled blues tradition as much as the more personal perspective of his 1974 masterpiece, “Inspiration Information.”

The set suggested a return to the guitarist’s earliest days -- at age 15, he was already developing a reputation as a stellar blues soloist while playing in his father’s Los Angeles-based big band. He was championed by established artists such as Al Kooper, who produced his first album, and Frank Zappa.

When Otis began recording on his own, he veered away from straight-up blues into more esoteric terrain, blending his classical training with studio experimentation, often playing all the instruments himself. His song “Strawberry Letter 23” was later turned into a million-selling hit when covered by the Brothers Johnson, and his recordings have been sampled countless times by hip-hop artists such as Kanye West, J Dilla and Digable Planets.

Otis once turned down an offer from the Rolling Stones to replace Mick Taylor as guitarist. Instead, after releasing “Inspiration Information,” he drifted away from the mainstream music business. A decade ago, David Byrne re-released “Inspiration Information” on his Luaka Bop label to acclaim from a new generation of admirers, and that album has been repackaged yet again this week with a batch of previously unreleased recordings spanning 1977 to 2000.

Though Otis has performed only sporadically in recent decades, with mixed results, he was in excellent form Wednesday in front of a full house. Long gone is the extravagant Afro he sported in the ‘70s, but there was still a touch of flamboyance as frilly shirt sleeves spilled from beneath his black jacket. He was supported by a seven-piece band that included his brother Nick on drums and his son Eric on guitar. But the dominant feature of the lineup was a three-piece horn section, which gave much of the set a brassy R&B swagger that Johnny Otis surely would have loved.

The set was about evenly divided between blues songs and “Inspiration Information”-era tracks. The more traditional material, including a cover of Gene Barge’s “Me and My Woman,” the simmering “Sweet Thang” and “Picture of Love,” allowed Otis to repay his debt to Chicago blues. The formidable skills he flashed as a teenage guitar prodigy remained intact: his patience, his acutely bittersweet tone, the way he structured his solos to suggest a story rather than just a blur of notes.

Some of the “Inspiration Information” tracks lost their idiosyncratic charm as Otis tried to retro-fit them into a more traditional format. The brass section overwhelmed the skewed, low-fi bossa nova of “Aht Uh Mi Hed” and the lilting Caribbean accents of “Island Letter.” But the suite-like “Sparkle City” founded a second life with orchestration that yo-yoed between a shimmer and a strut.   

The 10-minute “Wings of Love” veered from dire to transcendent, a second-hand power ballad in the vein of early ‘80s Journey or Foreigner redeemed by Otis’ snaking solo, which suggested a missing link between Eddie Hazel’s “Maggot Brain” and Prince’s “I Could Never Take the place of Your Man.”

“Strawberry Letter 23” soared when Otis and son Eric played unison runs on their guitars. It’s a song that still sounds outside of any category. Similarly, Otis ripped “Ice Cold Daydream” from its tentative connection to funk and riddled it with futuristic guitar shrapnel. For much of the show, Otis sounded like he was paying a visit to his father’s old musical neighborhood. As the concert wound down, however, the guitarist was finally back in his own world.

Shuggie Otis set list Wednesday at Lincoln Hall:
1. Inspiration Information
2. Tryin' To Get Close To You 
3. Aht Uh Mi Hed
4. Island Letter
5. Me and My Woman
6. Sparkle City
7. Sweet Thang
8. Picture of Love
9. Wings Of Love
10. Doin' What's Right
11. Blues instrumental

12. Strawberry Letter 23
13. Ice Cold Daydream

Copyright © 2015, RedEye
Related Content
  • 'Welcome to Me' is highly gawkable
    'Welcome to Me' is highly gawkable

    “Why doesn’t it look like ‘Oprah’?” Alice (Kristen Wiig) asks about the production value of her recently launched, guest-free talk show. Responds one of the many employees who can’t believe this series is happening: “Because you ate a cake made out of hamburger and started crying.”

  • Even the outtakes are predictable in 'Hot Pursuit'
    Even the outtakes are predictable in 'Hot Pursuit'

    In February 2013, Melissa McCarthy starred in an unfunny, aggressive road movie (“Identity Thief”). Four months later, she was the wild card to Sandra Bullock’s straight arrow in an incredibly generic buddy cop comedy (“The Heat”). Opening June 5, McCarthy stars in the very funny “Spy” as Susan...

  • Jack Black immediately derails 'The D Train'
    Jack Black immediately derails 'The D Train'

    Hidden in the nagging onslaught of suck that is “The D Train” is a really good scene: Oliver Lawless (James Marsden), the former high school stud who moved from Pittsburgh to L.A. to become an actor, approaches Dermot Mulroney (playing himself), who’s in a bar and being treated like royalty in...

  • Rauner to aldermen: 'For Chicago to get what it wants, Illinois must get what it needs'
    Rauner to aldermen: 'For Chicago to get what it wants, Illinois must get what it needs'

    In an unusual and perhaps unprecedented speech, Gov. Bruce Rauner on Wednesday dropped in at City Hall and offered a time-tested political horse trade: support his controversial pro-business, anti-union agenda, and he'll help Chicago out of its financial free fall.

  • Is Riot Fest dividing the community?

    The questionable return of Riot Fest to Humboldt Park has polarized the community with the local alderman unwaivering in his opposition and the festival organizers launching a full-court press to bring the three-day music festival back.

  • Mayor: Approval of Burge victims fund a step toward 'removing a stain'
    Mayor: Approval of Burge victims fund a step toward 'removing a stain'

    In a dramatic moment Wednesday, the Chicago City Council rose to acknowledge victims of torture at the hands of former police Cmdr. Jon Burge before approving a $5.5 million reparations package that Mayor Rahm Emanuel said shows Chicago is willing to deal with the dark chapter in its history.