Concert review: Nicki Minaj at Chicago Theatre

A few months ago at the nationally televised Grammy Awards, Nicki Minaj staged what looked like an exorcism while singing “O Come All Ye Faithful.” Then she levitated.

There was nothing quite as outrageous (or bewildering) as that moment Monday during her 90-minute performance at the sold-out Chicago Theatre. Instead, the first two-thirds of the concert consisted largely of Minaj singing and rapping along to a backing track, accompanied by six dancers, a DJ and a hype man on a two-tiered stage that morphed from a church to an alley to a living room illuminated by a fireplace.

It was an increasingly rote, mechanical run-through of some of the catchiest pop music of the last couple years. The real show might’ve been in the seats. An hour before Minaj took the stage, her fans strutted in cheetah-print hot pants, fish nets, stack heels and wigs, and posed for photos.

But two-thirds of the way into the concert, Minaj went off-script and reclaimed her turf. She started rapping like the performer who “used to play in front of 200 people at a club,” the precocious personality who caught the attention of rap kingmaker Lil Wayne. It saved the show. 

Minaj, born Onika Tanya Maraj 29 years ago in Trinidad, is as much known for her multiple personas, wigs and costumes as she is her music. She did not disappoint with several outfit makeovers (gowns to tights, taffeta to leather) and three wigs (two platinum, one brunette if you’re keeping score).

She’s at the leading edge of a new wave of female MC’s bubbling up in hip-hop, a genre that has not been overly kind to women in the past, both in its lyrical content and its reluctance to embrace artists who don’t fit the hard, macho profile.

After being signed by Lil Wayne to his record label, she delivered a series of scene-stealing cameos on other artist’s hits, demonstrating formidable lyrical chops and a palpable hunger to prove she not only belonged, but could destroy all challengers. She then released two multimillion-selling albums, “Pink Friday” (2010) and “Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded” (2012). Along the way, she became the first female solo artist to post seven singles on the Billboard top 100 at the same time.

The hits, from “Moment 4 Life” to “Starships,” dominated the first part of the show, which was divided into three distinct portions, focusing on hip-hop, dance pop and ballads. The fast, furious string of putdowns, boasts and one-dimensional leers that opened the concert ignited the fans.

Then Minaj shifted gears to her more overtly pop-oriented material and the momentum sagged. She came off as just an add-on in David Guetta’s electro-pop single “Where Them Girls At” and her ballads (“Save Me,” “Fire Burns”) could just as easily have appeared on a Katy Perry album. The vocals, sung to a backing track, were dispatched with verve-free professionalism, her personality buried by formula.

But after a DJ interlude, Minaj re-emerged in an outfit that looked like an homage to the street-smart, leather-cap-wearing “My Life?”-eraMary J. Blige. She dug deep, snapping together punchy snippets from her 2009 mix tape, “Beam Me Up, Scotty,” and instructing her DJ which track to play next. Minaj reeled off lines with rapid-fire precision, changing up her inflections and leaning into the sharp lyrical turns. She brought a few fans on stage and dedicated Drake’s “I’m So Proud of You” to “all my ambitious, independent women … (who are) in school or working.” It was the first time all night that Minaj looked at ease.

When she brought it back around for a confetti-strewn version of “Super Bass,” she had earned the celebration.

Nicki Minaj set list Monday at the Chicago Theatre:

1. Roman’s Revenge
2. Did it on 'Em
3. I Am Your Leader
4. Beez in the Trap
5. Stupid Hoe
6. Dance (A$$)
7. Right by my Side
8. Moment 4 Life
9. Automatic (DJ interlude)
10. Starships
11. Pound the Alarm
12. Turn Me On
13. Where Them Girls At
14. Va Va Voom (DJ interlude)
15. Fire Burns
16. Save Me
17. Marilyn Monroe/Fly (DJ interlude)
18. Mix tape medley
19. Come on a Cone 
20. Up All Night
21. I’m So Proud of You
22. Bottoms Up
23. Bedrock
24. Super Bass

Copyright © 2015, RedEye
Related Content
  • 10 music shows to see this summer

    10 music shows to see this summer

    Tribune music critic Greg Kot picks the must-see pop/rock music shows in Chicago this summer.

  • Chicago sues red light camera firm for $300 million

    Chicago sues red light camera firm for $300 million

    Mayor Rahm Emanuel's administration has sued Chicago's former red light camera operator, Redflex Traffic Systems, for more than $300 million on grounds the entire program was built on a $2 million bribery scheme at City Hall that has already led to federal corruption convictions.

  • Marrow's 'The Gold Standard' raises the Chicago rock bar

    Marrow's 'The Gold Standard' raises the Chicago rock bar

    The four musicians in Marrow know quite a bit about bringing diverse influences to the table. After all, three of them, singer-guitarist Liam Kazar, singer-keyboardist Macie Stewart and bassist Lane Beckstrom were in Kids These Days, a now-defunct septet that combined jazz, funk, rap and rock in...

  • The Kids These Days family tree

    The Kids These Days family tree

    From its 2009 beginnings to its 2013 demise, Chicago's Kids These Days seemed like one of the most promising acts the city had seen in years. While the band split up at the height of its hype, its members have since gone on to do bigger and better things—seriously impressive considering the hip-hop/rock/jazz...

  • Solid 'Gold': How ex-Kids These Days members came back stronger as Marrow

    Solid 'Gold': How ex-Kids These Days members came back stronger as Marrow

    After the dissolution of Kids These Days, the much-buzzed about Chicago fusion-jazz-rock-rap septet that split in spring 2013 just a few months after releasing its only album, “Traphouse Rock,” some of its members spent what seems like all of 20 minutes bandless. "We were driving back from the...

  • Mr Twin Sister's 'In the House of Yes' is one of last year's hidden treasures

    Mr Twin Sister's 'In the House of Yes' is one of last year's hidden treasures

    Welcome to RedEye's "Song of the Day," an ongoing feature where music reporter Josh Terry or another RedEye staff member highlights something they're listening to. Some days the track will be new, and some days it will be old. No matter what, each offering is something you should check out. Check...